Fitness Boxing Gets a Demo in the European eShop

Hit something.

By Robert Marrujo. Posted 12/01/2018 14:15 Comment on this     ShareThis

It feels like a million years ago at this point, but not all that long ago, Wii Fit was a juggernaut for Nintendo. Wii was at the top of its game at the time and had cultivated a whole new crowd of “casual” gamers for the first time. These new players gravitated to the system in part because of its unique motion controls and quirky, approachable software that made it easy for anyone to pick up and play.

The Wii Fit series was part of these days of yore, but has seemingly gone dormant since Wii Fit U on Wii U. While the ice hasn’t quite thawed for Wii Fit, there’s a glimmer of its DNA to be found in the upcoming Switch title Fitness Boxing. The game is being developed by Imagineer (who’ve put out a number of different titles over the years including Quest 64) and will be dropping on January 4, 2019 in North America and December 21 in Europe.

That earlier drop date in Europe is likely a big reason why Fitness Boxing has just gotten a fresh demo across the pond. Peep some gameplay in the trailer below:

Oddly, Fitness Boxing is a Nintendo-published title but has received virtually no fanfare from the Japanese company thus far. It boasts a mixture of fitness (see what they did there?) regimens that take advantage of the Joy-Cons’ motion controls while mixing in instrumental versions of a variety of licensed songs. Here’s the track list:

  • Avril Levigne/Girlfriend
  • LMFAO/Party Rock Anthem
  • The Buggles/Video Killed the Radio Star
  • Pitbull ft. Ke$ha/Timber
  • Owl City & Carlie Rae Jepsen/Good Time
  • T.Rex/20th Century Boy
  • Carlie Rae Jepsen/Call Me Maybe
  • One Direction/Live While We’re Young
  • Meghan Trainor/All About That Bass
  • Maroon 5/Sugar
  • Aqua/Cartoon Heroes
  • Kelly Clarkson/Stronger
  • Maroon 5 ft. Christina Aguilera/Moves Like Jagger
  • Lady Gaga/Born This Way
  • WALK THE SUN/Shut Up and Dance
  • 5 Seconds of Summer/She Looks So Perfect
  • Justin Bieber ft. Ludacris/Baby
  • The Nolans/I’m in the Mood for Dancing
  • Lady Gaga/Bad Romance
  • Lipps Inc./Funkytown

The game will retail for $49.99 when it launches in North America and £39.99 in Europe. Will you be giving this one a go? Share with us in the comments and on social media!

Source: Nintendo UK

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Log In 0 points Log in or register to grow your Ninja Score while interacting with our site.
Nintendojo's RSS Feeds

All Updates Podcast
News Comments
Like and follow usFacebookTwitter Friend Code Exchange + Game with Us Join the Team!