The Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences to Induct Koji Kondo Into Hall of Fame

The ceremony will take place during next month’s D.I.C.E. Awards!

By Robert Marrujo. Posted 01/25/2024 11:13 Comment on this     ShareThis

A great honor is being awarded to longtime Nintendo composer Koji Kondo. The mind behind the iconic theme songs for Super Mario Bros., The Legend of Zelda, and many other classic games is set to be inducted into The Academy of Interactive Arts & Sciences (AIAS) hall of fame. The announcement was made via the AIAS website.

A young Koji Kondo hard at work.

Kondo said the following in reaction to his selection:

“I am deeply thankful for being selected by D.I.C.E. for this important award. It is a true honor to be recognized in this way, and I am extremely humbled. Thanks to the help from the many people surrounding me and the support from our customers and fans, I was fortunate enough to be involved in game music development for decades. I am grateful for everyone who helped and supported me. I will continue my efforts in the music and sound aspects of development to hopefully make everyone’s game experience even more enjoyable in the years to come.”

Kondo will be inducted during the 27th annual D.I.C.E. Awards on February 15, 2024 in Las Vegas, Nevada. You can get more information about the awards show, which features several 2023 Nintendo games among its nominees, at this link. If anyone is deserving of such recognition, it is certainly Kondo; indeed, his work was so groundbreaking that it was written about in a volume of Bloomsbury’s 331/3 series, which you can read about right here. Congratulations to Mr. Kondo and we look forward to his future contributions to the video game industry.

Source: AIAS Website

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Log In 0 points Log in or register to grow your Ninja Score while interacting with our site.
Nintendojo's RSS Feeds

All Updates Podcast
News Comments
Like and follow usFacebookTwitter Friend Code Exchange + Game with Us Join the Team!